Leave Feedback

no avatar

College Notes

Fandy.com Staff • Nov 15, 2010 at 2:22 AM


Greg Garrett (Sandusky 2005) contributed 11 points, seven rebounds for Owens C.C. in a loss on Saturday at home against Kellogg C.C., 89-83.

Brittany Morris (Margaretta 2008) is a member of the Owens C.C. basketball team, which is 3-0 with a win on Saturday at Kellogg C.C., 80-51. No game or season statistics were available at press time.


Sarah Rospert (Edison 2009) finish 32nd at 22 minutes, 53.1 seconds at the Great Lakes Regional on Saturday for Baldwin Wallace. The Yellow Jackets finished seventh with 261 points with Rospert as the team's No. 2 runner.

Macy McFarland (Huron 2009) finished 176th for Heidelberg at 25:57.8 at the Great Lakes Regional on Saturday for Heidelberg. The Student Princes finished 24th with 658 points with McFarland as the team's No. 4 runner.

Sarah Orndorff (Huron 2008) is a member of No. 7 Calvin, which captured its third-consecutive Great Lakes Regional Title with 69 points. Calvin is an NCAA Div. III team.

Aimee Baehrens (Oak Harbor 2007) is a member of No. 20 Ohio Northern, which finished fifth at the Great Lakes Regional with 152 points. ONU is an NCAA Div. III team.


Cory Leslie (Perkins 2008) finished 75th at the Great Lakes Regional for No. 37 Ohio State, which placed fourth overall with 131 points. The sophomore finished seventh among Buckeyes at 32 minutes, 7 seconds. No. 5 Wisconsin won the race with 32 points. The NCAA Div. I race is 10 kilometers.

Tim Smith (Perkins 2007) finished 92nd for No. 33 Case Western Rerserve at the Great Lakes Regional on Saturday. CWRU finished seventh with 220 points, with Smith ending as the team's No. 7 runner at 26:51.7. The NCAA Div. III race is 8 kilometers.

Justin Brown (Sandusky 2007) is a member of Baldwin Wallace, which finished 16th in the Great Lakes Regional with 468 points. Brown did not run in the race, but has consistently been the Yellow Jackets No. 7 runner this season.


Jarrod Cox (Port Clinton 2008) recorded 11 tackles at strong safety for No. 6 Grand Valley State (10-1) in the Lakers season finale win on Saturday at Saginaw Valley State, 28-7. GVSU won the Greater Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championship and earned an NCAA Div. II playoff bid. Cox played in every game this season, recording 34 tackles. The sophomore also returned one punt for a touchdown.

Alex Gillett (Clyde 2009) rushed for 159 yards on 22 carries for Eastern Michigan (1-9) in a loss at home on Saturday against Western Michigan (4-6), 45-30. The sophomore quarterback added 214 yards through the air with two interceptions on 13 of 24 attempts. Gillett has started every game this season, rushing for 671 yards on 149 carries (4.5 yards-per-attempt) and five touchdowns. His season passing totals are 1,530 yards on 117 for 211 attempts for 13 touchdowns with 11 interceptions.

Nico Caponi (Perkins 2010) has played in every game this season at defensive end for Akron (0-10), contributing nine tackles. The Zips have two games remaining.

Bruce Parker (Sandusky 2008) recorded two tackles at defensive end for Urbana (4-6) in a win at home on Saturday against Central State (1-9), 40-12. For the season, the redshirt-sophomore recorded 34 tackles in 10 games with 5.5 tackles for loss, and two sacks.

Matt Wilde (St. Paul 2009) returned two kicks for 31 yards for Heidelberg (5-5) in a loss at Ohio Northern (9-1), 35-14. For the season, the sophomore ran for 12 yards on 4 carries, while returning 20 kicks for 494 yards.

Brett Pickens (Western Reserve 2010) recorded two tackles for a loss of seven yards at starting nose tackle for Urbana (5-6) in a win at Notre Dame College (2-9), 32-0.

Josh Oswald (Edison 2007) and Nick Clemons (Oak Harbor 2007) participated on Saturday for Baldwin-Wallace (7-3) in a loss at John Carroll, 31-28. Oswald ends the season with two receptions at wide receiver for 28 yards and one touchdown. Clemons ends his season at defensive back contributing nine tackles and one sack.

Nick Weidenhoft (Danbury 2008) finished his season with 10 catches for 106 yards and a touchdown for Defiance (6-4) after tearing his MCL. The Yellow Jackets ended their season on a loss on Saturday at Blufton (4-6), 21-16.


Andy Thompson (Huron 2008) was named all-conference second-team for Baldwin Wallace in the Ohio Athletic Conference

JP Lococo (Perkins 2008) started in 18 games, while participating in every game for Otterbein (3-14-2). The junior contributed one goal and one assist for the season.

Kelly Caldwell (Norwalk 2009) played in two games for Missouri State (7-4-1), which is NCAA Div. I.


Gus Everson (Sandusky 2010) contributed to the winning 200 free relay for Eastern Michigan in a loss on Saturday at Purdue, 187-108.

Michael Gallagher (SMCC 2010) is a member of No. 8 Ohio State, which won against Miami, 144-79 and followed by a win against No. 15 Tennessee, 151-149. Both meets were on Friday at OSU.


Amber Welfe (St. Paul 2010) record four kills, three digs for No. 23 Heidelberg (33-6) in a loss in the NCAA Div. III Tournament in Springfield, Ohio to No. 10 Calvin (28-6), 3-0. For the season, the freshman recorded 271 kills, 113 digs.

Emily Stewart (Edison 2010) contributed 28 kills, 21 digs this season for Clarion (29-4), which won the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference on Saturday with a win at home against Edinboro (29-5), 3-1. The last time Clarion won the title was in 1988.

Susie Isphording (Huron 2008) recorded eight digs and one assist for Bowling Green (8-23) in a loss on Saturday to Ohio (18-11), 3-1. For the season, the junior has contributed 48 kills, 92 digs and nine assists.

Sara Sage (Huron 2008) contributed seven kills, three digs for No. 10 UCLA (19-7) in a win at home against No. 20 Arizona (18-9), 3-1. For the season, the junior has contributed 72 kills, 30 digs and four assists.


Jeffrey Pelton (Bellevue 2007) is the reigning NAIA National Champion at 135-pounds for Notre Dame College. Jerrell Valliant (Sandusky 2010) is on the roster at 149.

Keith Witt (Oak Harbor 2008) lost by decision at 184 pounds for No. 14 Kent State against North Carolina's Nic Tenpenny, 1-5. The Flashes defeated the Tar Heels, 25-10. Troy Opfer (SMCC 2008) and Chris Estep (Western Reserve 2006) also return, with Opfer at 125 and Estep at 174.

Four local wrestlers are on the roster for No. 16 Ohio State. Kirk Tank (Oak Harbor 2008) transferred to Ohio State from Michigan State. The redshirt-sophomore will compete for the Buckeyes at 165 after sitting out one season. Drew Stone (Oak Harbor 2010) is a freshman at 125, while C.J. Magrum (Oak Harbor) returns to the starting lineup as a redshirt-sophomore at 197. Four-time state champ Logan Stieber (Monroeville 2010) is listed at 125 pounds for the Buckeyes.

Recommended for You