How to reach new local lawmakers

COLUMBUS Give them a piece of your mind. Write your Congressman. Or, perhaps, call yo
Tom Jackson
May 24, 2010



Give them a piece of your mind.

Write your Congressman. Or, perhaps, call your state representative.

Erie, Ottawa and Huron counties all have brand-new state representatives.

The new lawmakers expect to be busy. They'll have a difficult state budget to deal with, and the governor's new education funding plan.

The new state representative for Erie and Ottawa counties is Dennis Murray Jr. He's a Sandusky attorney, a former city commissioner and the Democrat who replaces former state Rep. Chris Redfern.

Murray's phone number in Columbus is the same as Redfern's: 614-644-6011. His e-mail address is and his postal address is 77 High St., 13th Floor, Columbus, OH 43215.

Huron County's new state representative is Terry Boose, a Republican former county commissioner.

Call Boose at 614-466-9628. Write to him via e-mail to or via regular mail at 77 S. High St., 10th Floor, Columbus, OH 43215.

The state senator for Erie County is still Sen. Mark Wagoner, R-Ottawa Hills. Wagoner also represents Ottawa County (except for the Elmore and Oak Harbor areas), and also Wood and western Lucas counties.

Wagoner has been elected to Senate leadership -- he's the majority whip -- which means he has a bigger office and a new postal address. Write to him at Senate Building Room 129, Columbus, OH 43215.

His phone number remains the same: 614-466-8060. His e-mail address is

Although lawmakers went to the Capitol this week, they won't be doing much until Jan. 28, when Gov. Ted Strickland delivers his State of the State address.