Port Clinton clinches share of SBC title

PERKINS TWP. The first meeting went Perkins' way. The rematch, and a share of the San
Sandusky Register Staff
May 24, 2010



The first meeting went Perkins' way.

The rematch, and a share of the Sandusky Bay Conference crown, belonged to Port Clinton after the Lady Redskins posted a 4-1 victory over the Lady Pirates on Wednesday at the Perkins Community Tennis Courts.

Samantha Griffin came away with a 6-3, 6-2 win at No. 2 singles for Port Clinton (15-2, 11-1 SBC), and Jordan Van Winkle teamed with Aubrey Gillman, who usually competes at No. 1 singles, at first doubles to take a 6-2, 6-0 win.

Perkins' Amy Schlessman, who beat Gillman in the SBC singles tournament final, had a 6-4, 6-0 win at No. 1 singles.

Perkins (14-2, 10-1) still has a chance to share the crown with Port Clinton if it wins at Clyde in a makeup match at 4 p.m. Monday. The Lady Pirates last won the league in 2005.

Rachael Szabo had a 6-2, 6-0 win at third singles and Molly Taylor and Haley DeLeon paired up for a 6-1, 6-1 decision at second singles.

The Redskins won outright titles in 2006-07 after Perkins' title. Should Perkins falter at Clyde, it would be the third straight crown for Port Clinton.

Singles -- Amy Schlessman (P) def. Chelsea Beck 6-4, 6-0; Samantha Griffin (PC) def. Dalal Hamad 6-3, 6-2; Rachael Szabo (PC) def. Jen Kustek 6-2, 6-0

Doubles -- Jordan VanWinkle-Aubrey Gillman (PC) def. Candice Cotton-Kylie Lorcher 6-3, 6-0; Molly Taylor-Haley DeLeon (PC) def. Morgan Bauer-Emily Mariea 6-1, 6-1

St. Mary C.C. 4, Edison 1

At Sandusky, only a loss at third singles prevented St. Mary from a clean sweep over Edison as the team improved to 6-10 on the season.

Morgan Linden and Melania Barna won at first and second singles while the doubles teams of Erica Christiansen-Megan Murray and Molly Doyle-Maria Dorski also claimed victories.

Singles -- Morgan Linden (STM) def. Taylor Stoll (E) 6-0, 6-2; Melanie Barna (STM) def. Ashley Ebler (E) 6-1, 6-4; Sammy Jamison (E) def. Armelle DeRiso (STM) 7-6, 6-1.

Doubles -- Erica Christiansen-Megan Murray (STM) def. Rachel Riley-Amanda Wrobleski (E) 6-2, 6-2; Molly Doyle-Maria Dorski (STM) def. Mallory Kiley-Danielle Racey (E) 6-0, 6-3.

Clyde 4, Oak Harbor 1

At Oak Harbor, Spencer Robles had a 6-1, 6-0 win at No. 2 and Shelbe Gibson won 7-6 (3) 6-3 at No. 3 for the Fliers (12-5, 8-3 SBC).

Katie MacFarland and Kaylea Griffin earned a 6-1, 6-2 win at No. 1 doubles and Emily Turner and Emily Stamm had a pair of 6-1 decisions at second doubles. julia Konieczny won at first singles , 6-2, 6-4.

Singles -- Julia Konieczny (OH) def. Sam Hill 6-2, 6-4; Spencer Robles (C) def. Julia Sharlow 6-1, 6-0; Shelbe Gibson (C) def. Abby Lopez 7-6 (3), 6-3

Doubles -- Katie MacFarland-Kaylea Griffin (C) def. Kristina Blatt-Emily Macko (OH) 6-1, 6-2; Emily Turner-Emily Stamm (C) def. Hannah Sigurdson-Katie Mehlow 6-1, 6-1

Bellevue 4, Huron 1

At Bellevue, Callie Kruse, Adrienne Snyder and Ophelia Whitmore all won their singles matches for Bellevue (9-8).

Kruse won 6-3, 6-1, Snyder had a 6-0, 6-0 sweep and Whitmore posted 6-0, 6-2 decsisions. Emily Miller and Salli Feick won at No. 2 doubles, 6-1, 6-2.

Huron's Jacque and Nancy Bloor had a 6-0, 6-0 sweep at No. 1 doubles.

Singles --Callie Kruse (B) def. Jen Semon 6-3, 6-1; Adrienne Snyder (B) def. Kelley Stallkamp 6-0, 6-0; Ophelia Whitmore (B) def. Nora Chaban 6-0, 6-2

Doubles -- Jacque Weir-Nancy Bloor (H) def. Nikki Slosser-Jennifer Pugh 6-0, 6-0; Emily Miller-Salli Feick (B) def. Paige Peiples-Morgan Griffin 6-1, 6-2

Jayvee winners -- Catherine Wilson-Emily Wallingford, Celesta Woodruff-Jessica Brown