Robinette works overtime to win Edison Invite medalist honors

HURON A real good year just got a bit better for Preston Robinette. Robinette became the first Edison
Dan Angelo
May 24, 2010



A real good year just got a bit better for Preston Robinette.

Robinette became the first Edison player to take medalist honors at the annual Edison Invitation, winning the title on a second playoff hole Monday at Sawmill Creek.

"Preston works hard at his game and deserves all the success he's had," Chargers coach Shayne Fischer said. "And this is his third tournament win this year."

Robinette, Nolan Eli of Genoa and Len Defino of Gilmour Academy each finished at 74 to get into the playoff and top the all-tournament team.

The team also included Alex Andrews and John Coyne of Gilmore Academy, who both finished at 75, Ryan Beam of Woodmore at 78, Mike Zakerski of Edison at 79 with Ben Meyers of Huron, Marcus Hunt of Port Clinton and Matt Schneider of Amherst Steele.

Gilmour Academy took the team title with a record round of 305, with Steele in second at 324 and the Chargers third at 327.

"It was a good day for us," Fischer said. "Our kids played well and Mike Zakerski played real well to shot a 79.

"But Gilmour was just lights out. To shoot a 305 at Sawmill is just phenomenal."

Besides, it was a beautiful day for golf.

"I've had my share of rain out and playing in the rain and win," Fischer said. Any time it's a great day, you're happy."

Clyde coach Ralph Hohenstein was the Edison Invitational honoree for 2008, even though the Fliers were not part of the 21-team field.

Genoa was fourth in the field at 335, with St. Paul ending at 338 and Perkins at 341.

Huron placed ninth overall at 350, one stroke ahead of Willard with Norwalk in 11th (356), Port Clinton in 12th (357) and St. Mary Central Catholic in 13th (361). Margaretta finished 16th (373), Sandusky was 17th (374) and Oak Harbor was 20th (405).

Jake Whitehouse fired an 85 and Pat Shine ended at 89 for the Chargers.

Mike Hanneman led the Flyers at 81, with Brad Weisenberger at 84, Ben Dow at 86 and Travis Bleile at 87, while the Pirates finished with an 81 from Derek Brennan, an 85 from Bryce Roll, an 86 from Jude Kramer and an 89 from Kevin Ebert.

Jeff McMillion and Nick Bible added 90s to the 79 from Meyers for Huron, with Eric Risehka rounding out the scoring at 91. Nick Popa fired an 82 to lead the way for the Flashes, with Adam Krause and Alex Hayes at 87 and Dylan Krause at 95.

Hunt led the Redskins with his 79, with Matthiessen Nisch Quan ending at 87, Alex Viery at 93 and Cory Brown at 98. Collin Ebert shot an 86 to lead the Panthers, with Jared Ebert at 90, Ryan Tamburrino at 92 and Evan Slattery at 93.

Derek Kuns led the way for the Polar Bears at 86 with Gavin Kuns and Adam Rice at 89 and Chris Stratton at 109. Jonathan Gill shot an 87, Seth Perdue and Nick Anderson each ended at 95 and Trey Keegan had a 97 for the Blue Streaks.

Ryan Graber and Tyler Bigger each shot 94s for the Rockets with Alex Pavlica at 104 and Jeremiah Helle at 113.


Panthers second in NWOCS play

At Fremont, St. Mary Central Catholic finished at 347 Sunday, 26 strokes behind champion Fremont St. Joe at the Northwest Ohio Catholic Schools tournament at Fremont Country Club.

Jared Ebert led the Panthers at 83, with Eric McLaughlin ending one stroke behind. Ryan Tamburrino chipped in an 87 and Collin Ebert rounded out the scoring at 93.

Cardinal Stritch was third in the field at 356 with Tiffin Calvert at 382 and Mansfield St. Peter's at 391.

Max Yellstrom of Fremont St. Joe was medalist at 80.