Register, staffers win top state honors

COLUMBUS When they pick up their morning paper, Sandusky area residents can be assured that they are
Annie Zelm
May 24, 2010



When they pick up their morning paper, Sandusky area residents can be assured that they are receiving coverage that is among the best in the state, according to Associated Press officials.

The Sandusky Register placed first in its category for the Associated Press General Excellence Award, which recognizes top newspapers in five categories. The Sandusky Register is judged among other newspapers with a daily circulation of 13,000 to 24,999.

Managing Editor Matt Westerhold said the award is good news for readers.

"It means they have a news team in their midst that's fighting for news and putting it in front of them," he said. "This is the best news team I've ever worked with -- they make my job easy."

Other Ohio newspapers recognized with General Excellence awards in their circulation categories included the (Cleveland) Plain Dealer, The (Canton) Repository, The (Massillon) Independent and The Ironton Tribune.

Nine members of the Sandusky Register editorial staff also earned individual awards.

Seventy-one daily newspapers submitted 3,215 entries in the contest, which featured news and sports stories, features, editorials, columns, graphics, photos, design and videography from 2007, according to the Associated Press.

Entries in Division III, the Register's category, were judged by editors from the Potomac News, Woodbridge, Va.

The Associated Press is a not-for-profit news cooperative representing 1,500 newspapers and 5,000 broadcast stations in the United States. Members of AP include 88 daily newspapers in Ohio.

Individual awards

Best Videographer: First place -- Jason Werling; Second place -- Abigail Bobrow

Best Headline Writer: First place -- Art Price

Best Business Writer: Third place -- Janet Nguyen

Best Editorial Cartoonist: First place -- Don Lee

Best Feature Writer: Second place -- Laura Collins

Best Graphics Artist: Second place -- Art Price

Best Photographer: Second place -- Luke Wark; third place -- Abigail Bobrow

Best Special Sports Section: Third place --Sandusky Register, "Fandy Football Preview"

Best Spot News Photo: Second place --Luke Wark, "Walk Away Tom"; Honorable mention -- Abigail Bobrow, "Flood Call".

Best Feature Photo: First place -- Jason Werling, "Girooffe"

Best Sports Photo: Second place -- Luke Wark,

Best Breaking News: Second place -- Amanda Godfrey and Jacob Lammers, "Kelleys Island Plane Crash"; third place -- Laura Collins, "Erie Apartments Blaze"; Honorable mention -- "Lions Park Shooting"

Best Full Page Layout: Second place -- Art Price, "Safari So Good"

Best Page One Layout: Second place

Best Web Site: Second place