Norwalk gears up for council races

NORWALK Two Norwalk City Council hopefuls have hit stumbling blocks, and one current member has deci
Sandusky Register Staff
May 24, 2010



Two Norwalk City Council hopefuls have hit stumbling blocks, and one current member has decided not to seek re-election.

Every two years new members are sworn in to contribute to the betterment of the city. This year eight seats are open, as all current council members retire their positions -- most with the hope of regaining the public's vote.

Mayor Sue Lesch confirmed Tuesday council member Tera Thornhill will not run this term.

No other absentees for the race have been reported, although current member Dwight Tkach has run into a complication.

An independent who has held a strong position on council since 2002, Tkach began the application process, circulating his own petitions for signatures. He forgot to sign as the circulator before turning in his paperwork on the deadline, June 7.

He admits it was an oversight on his part.

"It was a mistake. I'm not disqualified, but I have to send a letter to withdraw my petition and declare myself a write-in," Tkach said.

Instead of his name being listed on the ballot, voters will have to write down his name to declare a vote in his favor.

The process begins with picking up applications at the Board of Elections and obtaining 50 signatures. Tkach received 70 and hopes support he has received thus far will lead him to victory, despite being a write-in.

"Hopefully the voters can get my name spelled right," he chuckled.

Tkach is not the only candidate who has run into a problem. The board of elections also sent a letter to Stanley Obrenovich explaining the possibility of disqualification.

The letter to Obrenovich said because he is a member of the Huron County Democratic Party Executive Committee and contributes to the fund, there is a conflict with his running as an independent. He previously served two terms on Norwalk Council from 1998 until 2001 and ran for mayor with the Democratic party in 2001 but was defeated.

Members of the Board of Elections were not available for comment.

Deadline for entering the race as a write-in is Sept. 5.

Currently, council is evenly divided between Democrats and Republicans with two independents.