Leave Feedback

no avatar

Oak Harbor takes fifth straight SBC title; Huron's Nino Majoy scors the biggest win

Michael Truax • Feb 13, 2011 at 12:22 AM

Huron's Nino Majoy picked a great time to score his biggest win of the season.

The Huron junior handed Clyde's Trevor Strickland (39-1) his first loss of the season, 4-1, earning the title of Most Outstanding Wrestler at the Sandusky Bay Conference Tournament in Port Clinton.

With the win, Majoy became the Tigers' first SBC champion in 14 seasons, since Matt Leland won the 145-pound weight class at the end of the 1996-97 season.

"It feels great, to be honest," Majoy said. "This is our first SBC champ in awhile for Huron. I'm glad that it was me, and I'm glad I can bring it back to the school."

Majoy (40-2) and Strickland were scoreless through the first two periods.

Majoy started the third on the bottom, scoring a reversal for two points and catching Strickland on his back for two more. Strickland escaped from Majoy, but couldn't close the late deficit.

Earlier this season, Strickland handed Majoy (40-2) one of his two losses this season in the SBC Duals in Clyde. Strickland won that match, 9-1.

"I'm looking at the top," Majoy said. "I want Trevor to be up there with me. That's my goal: Have me on the left-hand side, and Trevor in the middle, state champs," he said, referring to the Division III and II state championship finals mats in Columbus.

As expected, the Oak Harbor wrestlers took down their fifth straight SBC title, with six Rockets claiming titles and three in second place. All 12 of Oak Harbor's wrestlers (they did not field 215 or 285) finished in the top four.

The Rockets scored 236.5 team points, followed by Clyde with 187, Edison with 180.5 and Perkins with 168.5. Host Port Clinton was fifth with 132 points, St. Mary Central Catholic sixth with 86, Huron seventh with 80 and Margaretta eighth with 40.

An illness swept through the Oak Harbor wrestlers earlier this week, knocking half the team out of practice Monday through Wednesday.

"We overcame a lot of adversity," Oak Harbor coach George Bergman said. "And so when people take that for granted and say 'You're going to win the league,' it did not look good Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. I was very surprised we could get our 12 starters in there. I figured (some) would be out."

The Rockets wrestled in the tournament where they are expected to compete in the postseason, starting next week: Ian Miller cut down to 152, Konner Witt to 160 and Jake Cramer to 171. It wasn't difficult for those wrestlers, who have each spent significant time in the weightclass above, to cut that weight, Bergman said.

Miller won his fourth SBC title by pinning Jaime Kimberlin in 1:36.

"It's pretty big," Miller said. "The SBC's a real tough conference, and to win it four times is pretty nice."

Cramer took his third SBC title, making the big jump from 140 to 171 this season. Witt and teammates Tyler Hackworth (125) and Alex Bergman (140) each won their second SBC title.

Seven of the eight schools crowned conference champions. Following the Oak Harbor, Edison and Perkins had two apiece and Clude, Port Clinton, St. Mary Central Catholic and Huron each had one.

SMCC junior Kody Bellamy ran a quick slide-by

in the final second of his match against Clyde's Billy Ward for the takedown and the 5-3 victory.

Edison's Kyle Burns won his third conference title with a 9-4 decision against Perkins' Michael Snyder. His Chargers teammate, Cam Michel, took a 5-4 decision against Oak Harbor's Alec Bowlick at 112.

Clyde freshman Beau Minnick edged Edison's Jude Michel in a 5-3 decision at 103.

Port Clinton's Stephen Pastor (130) held on to a 2-1 lead against Oak Harbor's Luke Cramer, stopping the Rockets sophomore from scoring the match-tying escape point in the third period.

Perkins' Bryon Logan (119) and Tyler Mees (135) won their weight classes for the Pirates, who finished fourth overall.

There were few surprises heading into the finals in the second session รข?? 11 of the 14 weight classes were match-ups between the first and second seeds, as predicted.

First-place matches

103: Beau Minnick (C) dec. Jude Michel (E), 5-3

112: Cam Michel (E) dec. Alec Bowlick (OH), 5-4

119: Bryon Logan (P) dec. Dalton Howard (E), 6-2

125: Tyler Hackworth (OH) dec. Jacob Fleming (PC), 13-9

130: Stephen Pastor (PC) dec. Luke Cramer (OH), 2-1

135: Tyler Mees (P) dec. Hunter Gresh (OH), 2-1

140: Alex Bergman (OH) dec. Cameron Campbell (P), 6-1

145: Kyle Burns (E) dec. Michael Snyder (P), 9-4

152: Ian Miller (OH) pin Jaime Kimberlin (E), 1:36

160: Konner Witt (OH) pin Jordan Cole (E), 3:54

171: Jake Cramer (OH) maj. dec. Brad Smith(C), 12-0

189: Sean McGee (OH) dec. Jordan Romick (H), 3-2 (OT)

215: Kody Bellamy (SM) dec. Billy Ward (C), 5-3

HVT: Nino Majoy (H) dec. Trevor Strickland (C), 4-1

Third-place matches

103: Nick Waldron (P) maj. dec. Kamron McDaniel (OH), 9-1

112: Blake Miller (C) maj. dec. Nathan Salmon (P), 9-1

119: Alex Guerra (SM) won by default

125: Dakota Flores (C) dec. Adam Guerra (SM), 5-4

130: Logan Reichert (SM) dec. Sahen Fultz (C), 4-2

135: Tyler Majoy (E) maj. dec. Casey Flores (C), 15-6

140: Corey Mancuso (E) maj. dec. Angelo Calderon (SM), 13-2

145: Kyle Mincheff (OH) dec. Jacob Carrisales (PC), 9-6

152: Matt King (H) dec. Tony Didion (P), 3-0

160: Jared Fleming (PC) pin Tyler Brownell (P), 3:00

171: Zach Rutherford (E) win by default

189: Josh Trick (C) dec. Zach Wheeler (PC), 6-5

215: Rory Kaip (H) dec. Chris Overfield (PC), 3-1

HVT: Charlie Chesser (M) dec. Jervaughn Eppse (P), 2-1 OT

Recommended for You