Leave Feedback

no avatar

Oak Harbor is trendy pick for coaches, media to win another SBC title

Michael Truax • Nov 30, 2010 at 1:22 AM

The Sandusky Bay Conference wrestling coaches unanimously picked Oak Harbor to repeat as conference champions for the fifth season in a row.

The Rockets are led by a senior class featuring state champion Ian Miller, state runner-up Konner Witt, Jake Cramer and Tyler Hackworth.

Oak Harbor will stack the middle weightclasses with Miller, coming off a 44-1 season in 2009-10 with a title in the Division II 145-pound weight class, moving up to 152-160, with Witt and Cramer in the classes above him and Kyle Mincheff below. Hackworth, 31-9 last season, will wrestle at 119-125.

Oak Harbor was picked first despite the fact it lost more talent than any other team in the SBC. Drew Stone, Zach Bergman, Mike Mallernee and Zach Sandwisch graduated, while a football injury has sidelined Jonny Bergman. Stone, Mallernee and Sandwisch each qualified for state in 2010, with Stone making it to the finals.

Edison, led by junior Kyle Burns, a third-place finisher in both his freshman (125) and sophomore years (135), was picked to finish second in the conference. He'll wrestle between 135 and 145 this season, with an eye on Monroeville's Hunter Stieber and Cam Tessari. The Chargers have 11 starters back altogether, including state placer Cam Michel and state alternate Jaime Kimberlin.

Most of Edison's wrestlers are in the middle weight classes, Hermes said, leaving the biggest and smallest classes thin.

"We're crowded in the middle," Hermes said. "From 130-171, we're going to be really solid and every week could be different depending on how everything else pans out."

Perkins, with state qualifiers in sophomore Bryon Logan (in 2010, 103-pound weight class) and junior Cam Campbell (in 2009, 130) plus SBC champion Joey Snyder, was picked third overall. The Pirates have 16 freshmen on their roster of 33, including four 2010 junior high state qualifiers (John Workman, Tony Didion, Alex Tetzloff, Josh Rohrbacher).

Clyde returns two SBC champions, Trevor Strickland (215, 44-7, 6th place state) and Billy Ward (189, 38-8).

Fliers coach Rob Jennings has a large freshman class of 14 and nine sophomores, with only 10 total juniors and seniors.

"We should have a right mix of kids. It's just a matter of getting everybody into the right weight class and making sure we get these football guys back in shape (after) a late start to the season," he said.


1. Oak Harbor 8 (8)

2. Edison 21

3. Perkins 25

4. Clyde 28

5. St. Mary CC 39

6. Huron 50

7. Port Clinton 54

8. Margaretta 63


1. Oak Harbor 2 (2)

T-2. Clyde 6

T-2. Edison 6

T-2. Perkins 6

5. St. Mary CC 10

T-6. Huron 13

T-6. Port Clinton 13

8. Margaretta 16

Recommended for You