Leave Feedback

no avatar

Huron's Graham, St. Paul's Smith top All-Ohio list

Fandy.com Staff • Nov 13, 2010 at 4:57 PM

Two area players who won their respective conference player of the year awards were also named Monday to the first-team of All-Ohio volleyball.

Huron libero Taryn Graham and St. Paul libero Corynne Smith were each on the top team in Division III and IV, respectively.

Graham, a senior who will conitnue her career at Gannon next fall, was named the Most Outstanding Performer of the Sandusky Bay Conference while Smith, a junior, was named Firelands Conference Player of the Year.

Also in Division III, Huron senior hitter Taylor Slauterbeck was named to the third team. The Tigers finished No. 8 in the Ohio Volleyball Coaches Association state poll and concluded the season at 20-6 with a tri-SBC title and a regional runnerup.

In Division II, Edison junior setter Elise Gastier earned honorable mention honors. The Chargers (20-5) finished with a share of their first SBC title in 17 years and lost in five games in a district championship match against state qualifier Mansfield Madison.

In Division IV, honorable mention honors went to Monroeville junior hitter Jamie Kluding, St. Paul sophomore hitter Olivia Livengood and senior Hillary Fritz.

Kluding helped lead the Eagles to a 17-7 mark and a sectional championship while Livengood helped the Lady Flyers (22-5) to a No. 8 ranking in the final coaches poll and a regional runnerup trophy.

Recommended for You