Leave Feedback

no avatar

Corynne Smith named FC Player of the Year

Mike Greco • Nov 9, 2010 at 11:25 PM

St. Paul, Monroeville and Western Reserve had the top honorees as the Firelands Conference all-volleyball teams have been announced.

Lady Flyer junior Corynne Smith was named Player of the Year. The libero helped St. Paul win the FC for the 11th straight season and advance to the regional for the eight time in nine tries.

Monroeville’s Kendra Orwig and Western’s Brianne Cooper shared Coach of the Year honors.

Other first-team selections included senior setter Hillary Fritz, junior hitter Jessica Draime and sophomore hitter Olivia Livengood of the Lady Flyers; junior hitter Jamie Kluding, senior setter Alex Miller and junior defensive specialist of Monroeville and senior hitter Olivia Held of New London.

First team: Olivia Livengood, Soph., St. Paul, hitter; Jessica Draime, Jr., St. Paul, hitter; Olivia Held, Sr., New London, hitter; Jamie Kluding, Jr., Monroeville, hitter; Hillary Fritz, Sr., St. Paul, setter; Alex Miller, Sr., Monroeville, setter; Olivia Smith, Jr., Monroeville, def. specialist; Corynne Smith, Jr., St. Paul, libero.

Second team: Janessa Kipp, Soph., New London, hitter; Kelsey Wyant, Sr., Western Reserve, hitter; Devin Sweeting, Sr., South Central, hitter; Sadie Catlett, Soph., Crestview, hitter; Katie Green, Soph., New London, setter; Katie Paramore, Jr., Mapleton, setter; Haley Ott, Sr., St. Paul, defensive specialist; Tashona Valliant, Jr., South Central, libero; Morgan Walters, Sr., Crestview, libero.

Honorable mention: Sara Kreitzer, Soph., Crestview; Lauren Butcher, Soph., Plymouth; Brooke Linder, Sr., New London; Brylie Schafer, Soph., Monroeville; Carli Patrick, Soph., Western Reserve; Rachel Boyer, Jr., Mapleton; Morgan Roberson, Sr., South Central; Elise Nickoli, Fr., St. Paul.

Player of the Year: Corynne Smith.

Coaches of the Year: Kendra Orwig, Monroeville; Brianne Cooper, Western Reserve.

Recommended for You