Leave Feedback

no avatar

Huron's Taryn Graham named top performer in SBC

Fandy.com Staff • Oct 25, 2010 at 3:08 PM

All eight of the Sandusky Bay Conference's first-team spots went to a player from either Edison, Huron or Margaretta -- the three teams who shared the league title.

The conference's Most Outstanding Performer award went to just one player.

Huron's Taryn Graham became the ninth player in the school's history to win the award, the league announced Sunday after coaches completed the voting for first- and second-team awards.

Graham is Huron's all-time leader in digs with 471, and as a libero (defensive specialist) had 91 percent serve-receive and connected on 92 percent of her serves.

"She really is what makes things work for us. Her floor defense and passing allows us to run an offense," Huron coach Don Wood said. "She has a real special talent in reading hitters, and I've been lucky to have her as my libero for two years."

There were six unanimous selections among the first-teamers. Edison's Elise Gastier was chosen at setter, and teammates Zoe Gastier and Abbey Cox were listed at the hitter position. Huron's Taylor Slauterbeck and Devon Koenig, and Margaretta's Shannon Coy and Katie Nesbitt rounded out the first team as hitters.

Already with a verbal commitment to Gannon Universitty, Erie, Penn., Graham was second-team All-SBC as a sophomore, and a unanimous first-teamer a year ago when Huron won the Division III state championship.

The Tigers, who have won or shared the last 12 conference titles, had Kat Ferrell on the second team.

St. Mary CC's Cate Murphy was second-team setter with Maddie Engeler at hitter. Other second-team picks were Clyde's Tara Humbert (libero) and Alesha Dickman (hitter), Perkins' Jessica Rule and Shannon Ebert (hitter), and Port Clinton's Meigan Day.

First Team

Setter: Elise Gastier, Jr, Edison*

Defensive Specialist: Taryn Graham, Sr, Huron

Hitter: Zoe Gastier, Sr, Edison*; Abbey Cox, Jr, Edison*; Taylor Slauterbeck, Sr, Huron*; Shannon Coy, Sr, Margaretta*; Katie Nesbitt, Jr, Margaretta*; Devon Koenig, Sr, Huron

* -- unanimous choice

Second Team

Setter: Cate Murphy, Sr, St. Mary CC

Defensive Specialist: Tara Humbert, Sr, Clyde

Hitter: Alesah Dickman, Sr, Clyde; Jessica Rule, Sr, Perkins; Meigan Day, Sr. Port Clinton; Kat Ferrell, So, Huron; Maddie Engeler, Jr, St. Mary CC; Shannon Ebert, So, Perkins

Honorable Mention

Clyde: Missy Setzler, Hannah Wadsworth

Edison: Chelsea Frankboner, Lauren Teed, Carmen Tinnel

Huron: Hannah Figgins, Katlyn Sommer

Margaretta: Jessica Napka, Beth Keller, Ali James, Whitney Strause

Oak Harbor: Abbie Gezo, Maggie Zurvalec

Perkins: Emily Myer

Port Clinton: Hope Thorbahn, Kenzie Payne

Recommended for You