Leave Feedback

no avatar

Edison wins Sandusky Invite

Fandy.com Staff • May 5, 2015 at 1:16 PM

A pair of first-place finishes and three more runner-up spots gave Edison the team crown on Saturday at the Sandusky Invite.

The second-place Blue Streaks had two winners as well, while Oak Harbor's Greg LaFountain was the top finisher in the No. 1 singles bracket.

LaFountain beat Edison's Connor Russell, 6-1, 6-1, while Sandusky's Jake Riefy was an 8-5 winner against Perkins' Max Funk.

LaFountain had a 6-0, 6-0 win against Funk in the semifinals, and Russell was a 6-0, 6-3 winner against Riedy. Funk beat Edison's John Nickolof 6-0, 6-1 in the first round.

Sandusky's Jack Stauffer was a 6-2, 6-0 winner in the No. 2 bracket against Edison's Jeremy Moss. Stauffer was a 6-1, 6-0 winner in the semifinal win against Perkins' Stuart Jasper, who was a 4-6, 6-0, 10-3 winner in the first round.

Oak Harbor's Nik Shay was third with an 8-4 win.

Edison's Chris Westfall won the No. 3 division with a 6-2, 2-6, 10-7 decision against Oak Harbor's Ian Rhodes. Westfall beat Perkins' Yonic Prager 6-3, 6-2 in the semifinals before Prager won the third-place match, 8-1. Rhodes was a 6-0, 6-3 winner against Edison's Xinhua Mesenburg.

The Chargers got their other win in the No. 1 doubles bracket, with Adam Osterling and David Bender scoring a 6-3, 6-2 win against Sandusky's Lucas Widman and Brock Cremean.

Osterling and Bender beat Anthony Pepitone and Alex Cebull (Perkins), who finished third, 6-2, 6-4. Widman and Cremean beat Oak Harbor's Andy Beard and Doug Pennington.

Doc Will and Connor Bordchardt won the No. 2 doubles division with a 7-5, 6-7, 10-5 decision against Edison's Corey Diroll and Matt Fujita. Will and Borchardt beat Nate Meredith and Alec Spriggs, 6-2, 6-4, and Diroll and Fujita nabbed a 6-2, 6-0 win against Oak Harbor's Brock Goetz and Zach Bolen, who won the third-place match, 8-7 (14-12).

The tournament, scheduled for two weeks ago before it was rained out, had three varsity teams and three JV squads. Four teams slated to participate had other tournament on Saturday, including Willard and Bellevue in the Northern Ohio League tournament, and Masfield Madison and Mansfield Senior at the Ashland Invite.

Recommended for You