Leave Feedback

no avatar

Weirich, Munafo named top SBC performers

AnthonyMoujaes • May 12, 2015 at 5:39 PM

Phil Weirich is the Sandusky Bay Conference's first ever player to repeat as the most outstanding performer in boys soccer.

The senior forward, who scored his 100th career goal Saturday for Oak Harbor, was voted by league coaches as its top player on Sunday.

Gina Munafo is just the third girls winner of the Most Outstanding Performer award since the league adopted the sport for the 2008 season.

Munafo, a senior at Huron, was a unanimous selection as a defender, and made the first-team list for the third year.

Weirch, also a three-time first-team performer, had 28 goals according to the team's website, which was last updated Oct. 11. He had a hat trick in Saturday's 9-1 Division II sectional win against Clyde, which gives him at least 31 goals.

Oak Harbor won both the girls and boys SBC soccer titles this fall.

On the boys first-team list, four other Rockets made the first team: goalkeeper Trent Lacer, defenders D.J. Reau and Jake Hetrick, and midfielder Tyler Eoff.

The first-team defense also had Port Clinton's Stephen Behrens and Edison's Zach Davis.

Midfielders John Dusza of Huron, David Brown of Port Clinton and Sam Bores of Edison were also first-team picks.

Huron's Nico Samaniego and Port Clinton's Jon Brown were the first-team attackers with Weirich.

For the girls first-team list, Chelsea Kamann of Oak Harbor was the top choice as goalkeeper.

Amanda Hetrick of Oak Harbor, Chelsea Franklin of Perkins and Liz Hill of Edison joined Munafo as the first-choice defenders.

Dyna Setzler of Oak Harbor, Shelby Kaser of Perkins, Amanda Vacca of Huron and Ashley Wiedenheft of Margaretta were the midfield selections.

The league's top attackers were Kelly Bryant and Morgan Turnow of Oak Harbor, and Alexis Lemar of Huron.


First team

Goalkeeper -- Trent Lacer, Jr, Oak Harbor

Defender -- DJ Reau, Sr, Oak Harbor*; Stephen Behrens, So, Port Clinton; Zach Davis, Jr. Edison; Jake Hetrick, Jr, Oak Harbor

Midfielder -- Tyler Eoff, Sr, Oak Harbor*, John Dusza, Jr, Huron; David Brown, Jr, Port Clinton; Sam Bores, Sr, Edison

Attacker -- Phil Weirch, Sr, Oak Harbor*, Nico Samaniego, Sr, Oak Harbor; Jon Brown, So, Port Clinton

Second team

Goalkeeper -- Garret Zunk, Jr, Port Clinton

Defender -- Curtis Boger, Sr, Huron; Isiah Cremean, Jr, Perkins; Garrett Howell, Jr, Port Clinton; Cory Pisano, Jr, Perkins

Midfielder -- Joey Price, Sr, Perkins; Myles Backus, Jr, Perkins; Brandon Stubblefield, Jr, Port Clinton; Michael Zeck, Jr, Huron

Attacker -- Michael Lococo, Sr, Perkins; Nick Heminger, Jr, Port Clinton; Mitch Unger, Jr, Edison

Honorable mention

Clyde -- Andrew Collins, Sam Gerber, Sahen Fultz, Taylor Aldrich, Garrett Binger

Edison -- Jeremy Moss, Alec Spriggs, Jack Plunkett, Cody McCoy, Colin Lombardi

Huron -- Tremayne Lemar, Taylor Prosser, Dom Vacca, Anthony Lane, Justin Majoy

Oak Harbor -- Caden Goldstein, Phil Bryant, JJ Rathburn, Alex Swope, Ian Miller

Perkins -- Devin Bermudez, Tony Genter, Max Funk, Brian Kurtz, Caleb Hoty

Port Clinton -- Mark Fillmore, Andrew Carden, Evaristo Figueroa, Hunter Frye, Robert Fravel

* -- Denotes unanimous choice


First team

Goalkeeper -- Chelsea Kamann, Jr, Oak Harbor

Defender -- Gina Munafo, Sr, Huron*; Amanda Hetrick, Fr, Oak Harbor; Chelsea Franklin, Sr, Perkins; Liz Hill, Fr, Edison

Midfielder -- Dyna Setzler, Jr, Oak Harbor; Shelby Kaser, So, Perkins; Amanda Vacca, Fr, Huron; Ashley Wiedenheft, Sr, Huron

Attacker -- Kelly Bryant, Sr, Oak Harbor*; Morgan Turnow, Jr, Oak Harbor; Alexis Lemar, Sr, Huron

Second team

Goalkeeper -- Katie Crawford, Fr, Huron

Defender -- Elizabeth Kidd, Jr, Margaretta; Andrea Gillespie, Sr, Huron; Kelsey Lacer, So, Oak Harbor; Janie Ahner; Jr, Perkins

Midfielder -- Olivia Schmitke, Fr, Edison; Brittany Yost, Jr, Margaretta; Taylor Glass, Sr, Oak Harbor; Michelle Elchert, Sr, Clyde

Attacker -- Michelle Johnston, Jr, Edison; Brenna Hultgren, So, Margaretta; Jenna Stacy, So, Perkins

Honorable Mention

Clyde -- Lana Adams, Kaylea Griffin, Rachael Smetzler, Brooke Billings, Courney Selvey, Nicole George, Victoria Rorhbach, Sara Celek

Edison -- Rachel Kiley, Austin Cech

Huron -- Victoria Green, Katiue DeRan, Kaitlyn Stradtman, Allie Carroll, Kali Horman

Margaretta -- Erica Dickman, Sarah Weyer, Sierra Protzman, Maddie Harris, Allison Leckrone

Oak Harbor -- Amber Burnette, Kayla Diefenthaler, Makayla Carpenter, Sydney Allen, Taylor St. Clair

Perkins -- Rachael Fowler, Rachel Peterson, Jenna Fryer, Kelsey Vaughn, Kimee Lipstraw, Hannah Jesberger, Sadie Ahlers

* -- Denotes unanimous choice

Recommended for You