Leave Feedback

Treasurer hunt yields 14 names

Alissa Widman Neese • Apr 12, 2014 at 8:00 AM

A Huron Schools treasurer hunt has yielded just one Erie County candidate.

Those searching needn’t look too far.

Pamela Snell, the city of Huron’s finance director, is seeking the job, according to applications the Register obtained through a public records request.

The deadline to submit an application was April 4.

Download their applications and resumes below

Stephanie Hanna, an administrative assistant at Norwalk Schools, is the only other local candidate who applied. The remaining 12 candidates span districts and city governments throughout Ohio, as well as a certified public accountant firm.

Huron school board members plan to conduct candidate interviews throughout April and hire a permanent treasurer by May 28, superintendent Dennis Muratori said.

They’ll meet with representatives from North Point Educational Service Center on Tuesday to discuss their 14 applicants in a closed-door session. The center is assisting the district with its search, which is a cost-free service offered through the pair’s contract.

Mike Weis, who had been Huron Schools treasurer since 2006, announced his retirement from education in January, effective March 31.

Board members immediately agreed to hire Weis as interim treasurer until they found his replacement, but soon opted to put Betty Schwiefert in the position instead.

Schwiefert, who retired from North Point Educational Service Center in 2012, will remain interim treasurer until board members hire a permanent replacement.

A copy of each Huron Schools treasurer candidate’s résumé and application will be posted at sanduskyregister.com  .

Huron Schools treasurer applicants

•Karen Austin, president of Austin & Associates Inc., certified public accountant firm

•Amelia Gioffredo, Strongsville Schools assistant treasurer

•Stephanie Hanna, Norwalk Schools administrative assistant 

•Anthony Hatmaker, North Ridgeville city treasurer

•Dawn Jacobs, Otsego Schools treasurer

•John Kahmann, Springfield Schools transportation director 

•Cajon Keeton, Crestline Schools high school business teacher

•Sue Lehmann, Upper Sandusky assistant treasurer 

•Jamie Lockwood, Toledo School for the Arts assistant to the treasurer

•Douglas Passet, farmer, former Waynesfield-Goshen Schools treasurer

•Beverly Sabo, Ashland County-West Holmes Career Center assistant to the treasurer

•Stephanie Schee, Ridgedale Schools treasurer

•Pamela Snell, Huron city finance director

•Suzanne Wilson, Wellington Schools treasurer

Recommended for You