Leave Feedback

Brudzinski to defend Senior Amateur title

Butch Wagner • Aug 28, 2014 at 3:50 PM

Seven former champions and 22 area golfers are among the field of 91 to play in the 23rd annual Ohio Senior Amateur Hall of Fame golf championship next week at Plum Brook Country Club.

The 36-hole test for amateurs 50 and over begins at 8:30 a.m. Monday with the final round Tuesday morning. An awards ceremony will be held afterwards with prizes for gross (actual) and net (with handicap).

Awards will be presented to the overall champion and the winners in six age groups — 50-54, 55-59, 60-64, 65-69, 70-74 and 75 and over.

Carnegie Investment Counsel of Cleveland is the major sponsor.

Heading the list is the defending champion, T.J. Brudzinski of Columbus who won a one-hole playoff to best former Cincinnati Reds standout Chris Sabo after they tied for honors in the 36-hole event with record 134 totals.

Brudzinski birdied No. 18 in the playoff to win his first Hall of Fame tournament — in his first try. Brudzinski posted scores of 65-69 over the par 71 layout while Sabo carded rounds of 68-66 to force the sudden death playoff.

Brudzinski, 53, also established an 18-hole tournament mark with his six-under-par 65 in the opening round on seven birdies and one bogey.

While Brudzinski, will return to PBCC, Sabo is not in the field.

However, there is plenty of talent, which includes former winners Bob Lewis Jr. of Pepper Pike (136 in 2010), Alan Fadel, 59, of Toledo (143 in 2008), Jeff Sparks, 60, of Cincinnati (67 in the one-day tournament in 2007), Bob Fairchild, 63, of Westlake (143 in 2002) and Howard "Po" Peterson, 77, of Steubenville (142 in 1997).

Another former champion is the tournament director, Craig Soule, 57, of Port Clinton who produced a 141 total to win in 2009.

Fadel is among four golfers to be inducted into the Ohio Golf Hall of Fame Monday night following the opening round.

Born in Toledo, Fadel will be joined by John Cook, of Toledo, Frank Stranahan, of Toledo and Don Nist, of Canton, to make up the Hall of Fame Class of 2014.

Area golfers in the 50-54 age group are Mike Trapp and Randy Rankin, both of Bellevue.

Soule is among seven from the area in the 55-59 age bracket.

He is joined by Bill Bolinger, of Castalia, Brian Sokol, of Vermilion, Dave Belden, of Port Clinton, Tom Bollenbacher, of Huron, Bruce Boissoneault, of Sandusky, and Kim Kinnear, of Clyde.

For players 60-64, the list includes Gregg Palmer, of Sandusky, Sticks Gioffre, of Huron, Cliff Siehl, of Port Clinton, Pat Collins, of Sandusky and Pat Martin, also of Sandusky.

Three more participants — John Parschauer of Huron, Harold Cassel of Castalia and Bill Gassett of Huron — are in the 65-69 class.

Three Sandusky and one Huron golfer will compete in the 70-74 age group — Huron's Don Gustovich and Bill Monaghan, Jan Sadoski and Ron Kaufman of Sandusky.

Bill Hill, of Sandusky, is the lone area golfer in the oldest age bracket (75 and over).

Gustovich was the overall net champion a year ago at 133 with 81-80 on his 14 handicap for net scores of 67-66. He was also the 65-69 age group net king in 2012 at 138.

The festivities actually begin Sunday afternoon with the Hall of Fame Bestball Championship, which has a 1:30 p.m. shotgun start.

Entry fee is $55 for Ohio Senior Amateur players and $80 for individuals participating only in the Bestball event, which has a lunch starting at 11:30 a.m. and an after golf party (hors d'oeuvres) following play.

Recommended for You