Leave Feedback

Divs IV-VI All-District: Matula, Jones earn repeat on first team

Mark Hazelwood • Nov 19, 2010 at 8:22 AM

One of the two unanimous selections for first team on the All-Sandusky Bay Conference football team is the area's lone unanimous first-team selection to the Associated Press All-Northwest District team that was released Thursday night.

Edison senior linebacker Kyle Matula was a unanimous selection at the position in Division IV, making it a repeat selection for the 6-foot-1, 225-pounder.

Matula made 135 tackles for Edison (5-5), including 12 for loss, while adding four sacks and an interception that was returned 91 yards for a touchdown.

Also making first team in Division IV was two Huron Tigers (7-3), as senior Jake Hillman was selected at receiver while classmate Joey Bogden was selected as on offensive lineman.

Hillman caught 46 passes for 752 yards and nine touchdowns while Bogden was the top lineman for an offense that gained 3,458 yards.

Also in Division IV, Port Clinton (5-5) landed three players on the second team while Huron had two.

For the Redskins, Derek Colston (1,530 yards, 13 TDs) was chosen at quarterback while Josh Graves (47 catches, 686 yards, 5 TDs) made the receiver list and junior Steve Wingo (92 tackles, 5 INTs) was a defensive back selection.

For the Tigers, senior defensive lineman Matt King (48.5 tackles, 7.5 sacks) and linebacker senior Jordan Romick (102 tackles, 8 tackles for loss) were chosen.

The Tigers added three special mention selections in Brian Bollenbacher (QB), Troy Delamatre (DB) and Rory Kaip (OL).


As can be expected with a 10-0 season, the Western Reserve Roughriders landed three first-team selections and the division's Coach of the Year in 13th-year coach Mike Stoll.

Junior Blake Buckhannon was first team at running back after running for 1,843 yards and 26 touchdowns on 176 carries, while senior center Jake Fannin was chosen on the offensive line and senior Ethan Patrick was on the defensive line with 94 tackles and two sacks.

Stoll guided the 'Riders to their first unbeaten season and playoff appearance since 1984 while also picking up the program's first Firelands Conference title since 1990. Since 2002, Stoll's teams have gone 62-28 with seven winning seasons in nine years.

Also for Western, senior receiver Darren Johnson was a second-team selection at utility back after catching 22 passes for 333 yards and four touchdowns while returning 13 punts and kicks for 424 yards and four touchdowns.

The SBC's other unanimous selection, Margaretta senior defensive back Devin Jones, is also a repeat first-team selection. Jones, also named the SBC's Most Outstanding Performer, had 55 tackles and two interceptions, although team's widely avoided throwing in his direction.

Along with Jones, it was Margaretta running back Corey Yontz that helped the Polar Bears (6-4) to their first winning season since 2002. Yontz was a second team selection at running back with 1,291 yards and 16 touchdowns on 159 attempts.

Earning special mention honors was Margaretta senior defensive lineman Sam Spring.


Danbury's Kennedy named first team

While often times a team's overall record is taken into account for the district team, sometimes a player's individual season is too strong to ignore.

That proved to be the case with Danbury junior defensive back Lucas Kennedy, who landed on the first team list despite playing for a 1-8 team in 2010.

Kennedy made 96 tackles and intercepted six passes while breaking up six more and forcing four fumbles for the Lakers. In addition to his defensive numbers, Kennedy ran for 1,189 yards and 14 touchdowns while throwing for 878 yards and five touchdowns at quarterback. Kennedy made headlines for playing the final two games of the season on a sprained MCL, just so the Lakers could field a team in those games.

Also making first team in Division VI was Monroeville senior defensive lineman Jeremy Krill, who made 72 tackles and seven sacks for the Eagles (8-2). St. Paul senior linebacker Mitchell Gross was also a first team selection for the Flyers (7-3) after making 149 tackles, including 19 for loss, and adding seven sacks.

Earning second team honors for the second straight year at punter was Monroeville's Justin Jones, who punted 29 times for a 38.5 average.

Monroeville added four special mention selections among Ryan Stower (QB), Ben Ringenberg (LB), Cory Long (DB) and Skylar Old (DB). St. Paul's Adam Smith (RB) and Isaac Livengood (DL) were also honorable mention along with Danbury's Hunter Stephens (DL).

Also in Division VI, Buckeye Central head coach Jason Ratliff was named Coach of the Year. Ratliff is a 1990 Willard graduate and former St. Paul assistant who led the Bucks to a 9-1 record and the playoffs in his third year after inheriting an 0-10 team.

Recommended for You