Leave Feedback

no avatar

Margaretta's Devin Jones named SBC's top player for football

Fandy.com Staff • Nov 9, 2010 at 1:17 AM

For the first time ever, a Polar Bear reigns supreme as the top player in the Sandusky Bay Conference.

Margaretta senior Devin Jones was chosen as the SBC's most outstanding performer by vote of league coaches, the league announced Monday.

Jones, a first-team choice at quarterback on offense and one of two unanimous selections on defense in the secondary, is the first player from Margaretta to win the Most Outstanding Performer, which began in 1998.

In 10 regular-season games, Jones carried 140 times for 895 yards for Margaretta (6-4). Both totals were the second- highest total on the team behind teammate Corey Yontz, who was also a first-teamer at running back.

Jones completed 38 of 98 passes for 729 yards, and combined for 15 touchdowns.

Jones picked off two interceptions, but as one of the top corners in northern Ohio was seldom tested because of his athleticism.

"I think it speaks volumes of how difficult he was to defend, because the coaches of SBC make (the player of the year) distinction," Margaretta coach Rock Farlow said. "It's a big honor in a league with a lot of good players.

The recognition show the type of kid Jones is and the type of respect he's garnered, Farlow said. Jones visited Ohio University two weeks ago but has made no official decision on college football.

One other running back, Oak Harbor's Jake Scott, was a unanimous pick at that position, while Jake Hillman (Huron) at receiver, and Jake Grzymkwoski (Oak Harbor) and Alex Jess (Clyde) at linemen were unanimous choices.

Perkins' running back Richard Hohler and end Michael Ebert -- the only first-team junior on offense -- with Clyde receiver Mac Wilkerson were the other first-team skilled players.

The first-team line had spots for Joey Bogden (Huron), Jason Shepherd (Clyde) and Rory Kaip (Huron).

Aside from Jones, the defense had one other unanimous pick. Like Jones, Edison linebacker Kyle Matula was a unanimous first-teamer for the second straight year.

Up front, linemen Trevor Strickland (Clyde), Grzymkowski, Matt King (Huron) and Seth Spring (Margaretta) were the first-team selections.

At linebacker, Matula got company from sophomore Bennett Brown (Clyde), Joey Mallernee (Oak Harbor) and Jordan Romick (Huron).

Defensive backs to earn first-team spots were Jones, Davy Burkett (Oak Harbor), Troy Delamatre (Huron) and Steve Wingo (Port Clinton).

Clyde's Jordan Colson was the first-team choice for specialty player for a second-consecutive season.


First team

Quarterback: Devin Jones, Sr, Margaretta

Running back: Corey Yontz, Sr, Margaretta*; Jake Scott, Sr, Oak Harbor*; Richard Hohler, Sr, Perkins

End: Michael Ebert, Jr; Perkins

Receiver: Jake Hillman, Sr, Huron*; Mac Wilkerson, Sr, Clyde

Center: Joey Bogden, Sr, Huron

Guard: Jake Grzymkowski, Sr, Oak Harbor*; Jason Shepherd, Sr, Clyde

Tackle: Alex Jess, Sr, Clyde; Rory Kaip, Sr, Huron

Second team

Quarterback: Derek Colston, Sr, Port Clinton

Running back: Kyle Matula, Sr, Edison; Gabe Gilbert, Sr, Clyde; Justin Hicks, Sr, Huron

End: Ethan Brown, Sr, Clyde

Receiver: Josh Graves, Sr. Port Clinton; Zach Priesman, Sr, Oak Harbor

Center: Allan Boss, Jr, Oak Harbor

Guard: Kyle McDonald, Sr, Edison; Brock Naufel, Sr, Perkins

Tackle: Charlie Chesser, Sr, Margaretta; Tim Cutler, Sr. Perkins


First team

Lineman: Trevor Strickland, Sr, Clyde; Jake Grzymkowski, Sr, Oak Harbor; Matt King, Sr, Huron; Seth Spring, Sr, Margaretta

Linebacker: Kyle Matula, Sr, Edison*, Bennett Brown, So, Clyde; Joey Mallernee, Jr, Oak Harbor; Jordan Romick, Sr, Huron

Defensive back: Devin Jones, Sr, Margaretta*, Davy Burkett, Sr, Oak Harbor; Troy Delamatre, Jr, Huron; Steve Wingo, Jr, Port Clinton

Specialty: Jordan Colson, Sr, Clyde

Second team

Linemen: Michael Ebert, Jr, Perkins; Jemar Walk, Jr, Perkins; Steve Pastor, Sr, Port Clinton; Gary Jaycox, So, Edison

Linebacker: Thomas Glick, So, Clyde; Tyson Moore, Sr, Perkins; Eric Reynolds, Sr, Port Clinton; Seth Stockmaster, Jr, Clyde

Defensive back: Mac Wilkerson, Sr, Clyde; Brandon Tomson, Sr, Edison; Mitchell Benkey, So, Perkins; Brandon Krueger, Sr, Huron

Specialty: Jon Suhanic, Sr, Edison

Honorable mention

Clyde: Ryan Meyer

Edison: Jacob Storch, Cory Mancuso, Storm Weimer, Bobby Stone, Kyle Burns

Huron: Brian Bollenbacher, Billy Porter, Nino Majoy, Sean Fantozz

Margaretta: Cody Caldwell, Craig Galindo, Chris VanScoy, Austin Moore

Oak Harbor: Kyle Mincheff, Steve Young, Josh Warnke, DJ Everett, Andrew Sharp

Perkins: Evan Laser, Brandon Smith, Joey Snyder, Austin Sparks

Port Clinton: Josh Aleshire, Jake Fleming, Jacob Carrisales, Ben Peterson, Ryan Mahler

SMCC: Kody Bellamy, Leo Samaratoni, Matt Good, Pat Sennish, Garrett Kowalski

Recommended for You