Leave Feedback

Last Butcher Memorial scramble July 26

Butch Wagner • Aug 27, 2014 at 3:05 PM

The 15th annual Jeffrey K. Butcher Memorial scramble is scheduled for July 26 at Woussickett with an 8:30 a.m. shotgun start.

This will be the Final and Farewell event in which proceeds benefit the Jeffrey Butcher Memorial Scholarship at Perkins High School.

This year two scholarships were given to the Class of 2014 seniors on the golf teams. They were Danica Gilpin and Tanner Trent. More scholarships will be presented to the Class of 2015 next year.

Over the past 14 years over 20 scholarships have been given while a $15,000 donation was given to Sandusky Library’s Capital Campaign with the naming of the Jeff Butcher Easy Reader Room in Children’s Services, and an additional $5,000 was given to Perkins High School for its new fieldhouse.

“So many people, businesses and organizations have contributed over the years to help make all of this happen and we hope to make this Final and Farewell scramble the best one yet” said Lori Esposito, committee member.

As in the past, there will be two divisions — men’s and women’s/mixed — and cash prizes will be handed out to the top three teams in each.

There is a team handicap minimum of 45 with only one member having a handicap of eight or lower.

The $75 entry fee includes golf, cart, hot dog lunch and a steak dinner. Prepaid registration is due by Friday (July 18) and made payable to Bill Porter, 3307 Harvest Ridge Drive, Huron, Ohio 44839.

For more information concerning hole sponsorship, door prize donation and to register a team, call Porter at 419-271-3308.

Orioles Club scramble Aug. 9

The first Sandusky Orioles Club Nest 279 is set for Aug. 9 at Woussickett with an 8 a.m. shotgun start.

Entry fee for the four-person event is $75 and includes hot dogs at the turn and a steak dinner at the Orioles Club.

Hole prizes includes closest to the pin and raffles are also planned.

For more information, call Dave Kastor at 419-656-8651.

Lyle Sarr Memorial

Twenty-nine teams played in the ninth annual Lyle Sarr Memorial scramble July 12 at Sleepy Hollow with the winning score a 14-under-par 57.

The foursome of Rob Mathews, Drew Gaietto, John Byington and Gabe Vaccaro had a three-stroke advantage over its closest challengers.

Two teams tied for second at 11-under-par 60 and the entry of Josh Gregg, Michelle Gregg, Joe Risner and Dan Adams earned the second position in a scorecard playoff over the team of Sean Bahnsen, Chad Fowles, Alex Hanes and Joe Hauke.

Placing fourth was the group of Aaron Teel, Steve Wetzel, Mike Hoffman and Kevin Carty while Randal Adkins, Todd Kaufman, Dave Lewis and Brian Sowards finished in fifth place at 61.

Three more groups came in with 62s. They were Dustin Schwerer, Matt England, Joe Hedberg, Tom Mock; Dave Schoen, Dean Wright,Tyler Puckrin, Jeremy Eddington and Tom Fate, Larry Bucklew, Jim Andrews, Gary Pagnard.

Hole prize winners consisted of: Longest drive in fairway — Todd Kaufman (1), Alex Hanes (4), Joe Hauke (11), Sean Bahnsen (13),

Closest pin second shot — Tom Mock (2), Link Conger (6), Drew Gaietto (17), Bruce Miller (18).

Longest putt — Sam Taylor (7), Gary Pagnard (3), Joe Hedberg (9), Fred Light (12), Scott Zimmerman (14), Michelle Snyder (16),

Closest to pin on tee shot — John Byington (5), Larry Bucklew (8), Steve Wetzel (10), Jeff Risner (15).

“A special thanks goes out to Mathews Ford and the rest of our sponsors” said Dan Sarr, son of the longtime Sandusky Bowling Association secretary Lyle Sarr.

Recommended for You