Leave Feedback

Teams selected for North Coast Invite Wednesday

Butch Wagner • Aug 27, 2014 at 3:05 PM

The teams are tentatively set for the 10th annual North Coast Invitational tournament. The tournament will be held Wednesday on the sometimes treacherous Sawmill Creek course that features slick greens.

Women from four courses — Eagle Creek Golf Club, Sawmill Creek, Thunderbird Hills and Woussickett — form the Ryder Cup format 18-hole event which has an 8 a.m. shotgun start.

Each team has a maximum of 20 players, with one from each involved in matches in which player handicaps are used.

Individual handicaps range from as low as 13 to as high as 40.

The player with the lowest net score in each foursome picks up three points for her team with the next low scorer adding two points for her team.

The team with the highest point total is crowned the 2014 champion. Eagle Creek is the defending champ, while Sawmill Creek is looking for its fifth title.

Following play, a luncheon will be served and awards presented, including the traveling trophy — which will be displayed for one year at the winning team’s course.

The tentative rosters are as follows:

•EAGLE CREEK: Nancy Bleile, Margaret Baldwin, Tacy Bond, Donna Coe, Nancy Dilger, Debb Esch, Lynn Espvik, Brenda Friend, Peggy Heydinger, Suzanne Jump, Erin Lendrum, Juanita Lopez, Lisa Nestor, Donna Pittenger, Patty Richards, Marcia Robinson, Karen Schneider, Annette Stroud, Meg Waugh and Sandy White. n

•SAWMILL CREEK: Karen Bork, Jennifer Mazza-Bork, Ginny Corbett, Brenda Delamatre, Kathy Durham, Linda Hebert, Patti Heilman, Theresa Herold, Gloria Hiendlmayr, Roberta Kessler, Iris Kuebbeler, Marge Manion, Kim Martello, Sylvia Mazza, Lois Myers, Patty Sager, Sandy Schiefley, Evelyn Torski, Mary Lou White, Linda Wilson and Sandy Zelvey.

•THUNDERBIRD HILLS: Jayne Bade, Martha Bodde, Janice Bostic, Sharon Dubois, Becky Freeman, Sharyn Fry, Sally Hoffman, Nicky Keller, Karen Kennedy, Margie Malloy, Betty Meese, Cathy Ontko, Judy Perry, Linda Plumb, Ann Portteus, Theresa Recard, Linda Solet and Barb Wobser.

•WOUSSICKETT: Joan Ackerman, Chico Bird, Loreene Brown, Dianne Farrar, Linda Fehnrich, Shirley Goins, Nancy Herl, Liz Koleno, Sharon Kenney, Sue Krynock, Linda Moon, Peggy Myers, Brenda Pflieger, Pat Szekely, Erin Terry, Julie Tiell, Linda Wenner and Pat Wilson.

Terry, Crooks duo wins Waldock Cup

The entry of Scott Terry and Jason Cooks was crowned the first champion of the Waldock Cup tournament at Plum Brook Country Club.

The 27-hole event was held in conjunction with the 100th anniversary of the club and consisted of three nine-hole formats using the player’s handicap.

Tim Weyer and Aidan McDonnell placed second, while Jim Stults and Harry Perdue finished third.

Hole prizes were also awarded for closest to the pin on three holes and longest drives on No. 12.

Closest to the pin honors for players with 0-9 handicaps went to Gary Eckert at No. 2 while Neal Ebert earned the award on No. 14 for players with handicaps of 10-19.

Longest drive winners were Dave Voight Jr. (0-9), Crooks (10-19) and Mark Faflik (20 and over).

Recommended for You