Leave Feedback

The NSA Amendment: How Ohio voted

Tom Jackson • Jul 25, 2013 at 6:32 PM

Wednesday night, the U.S. House voted to defeat an amendment by Rep. John Conyers Jr., a Michigan Democrat, and Rep. Justin Amash, a Michigan Republican, to cut off funding for the National Security Agency's program to collect phone calls records on everyone in America. The amendment lost, with 205 voting "yes" but 217 voting "no."

Ohio's delegation helped defeat the amendment; four voted for it, but 11 voted against it and one didn't show up. Here's how they voted:

Voting "Yes" for the amendment:

Steve Chabot, Republican; Jim Jordan, Republican; Bill Johnson, Republican; Marcia Fudge, Democrat. 

Voting "No" against the amendment: 

Brad Wenstrup, Republican; Robert Latta, Republican; Bob Gibbs, Republican; John Boehner, Republican; Marcy Kaptur, Democrat; Michael Turner, Republican; Pat Tiberi, Republican; Tim Ryan, Democrat; David Joyce, Republican; Steve Stivers, Republican, and Jim Rennaci, Republican. 

Not voting:

Joyce Beatty, Democrat.

Recommended for You