Leave Feedback

The awards are a building-wide achievement

Matt Westerhold • Mar 23, 2010 at 6:26 PM

We work in a purpose-filled profession with gratitude. We are humbled by the opportunity to tell the story of our community as best we see it. And we continually evaluate who we are and what we could become.

On Sunday, the news team and the hardworking employees in the Register's Web Department were honored by the Associated Press of Ohio and named the best daily newspaper and the best news Web site in the state. Of the 66 newspapers that competed, only five earned the top honors. Register reporters and editors earned individual awards through hard work, determination and an absolute unwillingness to settle for lip service when it comes to the hard realities our communities face. We fight for our readers and their right to know. We fight for our right to know.

The Register earned more first place awards than most other newspapers earned awards, but having the best Web site is a nod to our future. The Web Department team — David Allen, Ryan Blechinger, Christy Seyler, Sara Kaplow and Web director Nick White  — have created and continue to improve the quality at sanduskyregister.com, and work hard to provide the tools necessary for the news team to push the online product to new heights. Online producer Abigail Bobrow works closely with them and with the Register's IT director, Keith Veleba, to build an ever changing and ever growing product that has an ever growing audience.

But putting out a newspaper and keeping a Web site alive and breathing 24/7 is a building-wide effort and none of us would have the opportunity to do this thing we love without depending on the advertising and circulation departments, the business office, the pressmen, the mailroom and all of the employees and contractors who work out of the news building at 314 W. Market St.

It's a purpose-filled profession. Thank you for the opportunity to serve.

Register photo/JUSTIN ZELM Sandusky Register staffers hold the awards won by the newspaper at Sunday's Associated Press Society of Ohio 2009 convention in Columbus. Front row, from left, editorial page editor Don Lee, managing editor Matt Westerhold, news editor Cheryl Welch, reporter Cory Frolik, former reporter Jacob Lammers and reporter Sarah Weber. Back row, from left, sports reporter Anthony Moujaes, assistant news editor Annie Zelm, chief photographer Jason Werling, online producer Abigail Bobrow, design editor Tom Sherer and staff photographer Luke Wark. The Register was awarded the General Excellence award as the best paper of its size in Ohio. Not pictured: reporter Mike Fitzpatrick and design desk chief Mike Schaffer.

Recommended for You