Leave Feedback

no avatar

Coaches' district voting released

Fandy.com Staff • May 12, 2015 at 5:32 PM


Area boys basketball players were recognized Sunday at the annual Ohio High School Coaches Association District 6 voting that was held at Galion High School.

In Division I, Sandusky's Xavier Turner (14.8 ppg) and Jay Page (10.4 ppg) were first team selections. Turner was the second-leading vote-getter in the division with 43.

Donald Williams (9.9 ppg) was named second team for the Blue Streaks while Tristen Jeffries (9.1 ppg) was an honorable-mention selection.

In Division II, Perkins' Michael Ebert (13.5 ppg) was a first-team selection along with Edison's Mike Yost (14.8 ppg) and Norwalk's Jared Cashen (11 ppg). Ebert received the second most votes (135) behind Shelby standout Josh Ingle, while Yost received the third most votes (134).

On second team, Bellevue's Jalen Santoro (14.1 ppg), Perkins' Zak Dees (16 ppg), Port Clinton's Derek Colston (10.8 ppg), Willard's Jalen Douglas (9.8 ppg) and Edison's Coltyn Grant (11.7 ppg) were recognized.

The honorable mention team in Division II included Clyde's Zach Warner (13.1 ppg) and Jose Leal (9.9 ppg), Perkins' Brandon Smith (14.5 ppg), Edison's Ryan Reber (11.8 ppg) and Norwalk's Jake Fetherolf (9 ppg).

In Division III, Western Reserve's backcourt duo of Nolan Todd (11.7 ppg) and Nate Schmitt (15.8 ppg) were both first-team selections along with Huron's Brian Bollenbacher (16 ppg) and Margaretta's Devin Jones (13 ppg).

Margaretta's Craig Galindo (10 ppg) and Western Reserve's Darren Johnson (10.9 ppg) were both second team selections while the Roughriders' Jake Fannin (10 ppg) was an honorable mention selection.

In Division IV, Monroeville's Ryan Stower (12.2 ppg) was the lone first team selection. Named to the honorable mention team was New London's Dane Held (10.3 ppg) and Clay Hall (11.4 ppg), St. Mary Central Catholic's Alex Opfer (11 ppg) and Denarius Harris (10 ppg), St. Paul's Adam Smith (8 ppg) and Monroeville's Ryan Dragon (10 ppg).


Area girls basketball players were recognized Sunday at the annual Ohio High School Coaches Association District 6 voting that was held at Galion High School.

In Division I, Sandusky's Cara Croom (15 ppg) was a first team selection while Bri Crowe (10 ppg) was on second team and Caroline Estel (5.4 ppg) was named honorable mention.

In Division II, Clyde's Amanda Cahill (17 ppg) was the top vote-getter (146) to headline first team while Bellevue's Leslie Raifsnider (18.9 ppg) was right behind with 135 votes.

Also on first team were Perkins' Jordan Fraley (16.2 ppg), Clyde's Rachael Smetzler (10.4 ppg) and Willard's Alysun Daniel (16.4 ppg).

Clyde's Kaylea Griffin (10.2 ppg) and Spencer Robles (12.8) were second team selections along with Bellevue's Erika Jordan (13.1 ppg), Perkins' Shannon Ebert (13.1 ppg) and Willard's Ally Graham (16.4 ppg).

The honorable mention list included Edison's Susan Knight (9.8 ppg) and Abbey Cox (9.7 ppg), Perkins' Darcy Daniel (8.5 ppg), Norwalk's Hannah Schneider (8.2 ppg), Bellevue's Kristin Sochko (9.8 ppg) and Willard's Elizabeth Fried (7.8 ppg).

In Division III, Western Reserve's Kelsey Wyant (12.4 ppg) was tied for most votes (119) to lead area first team selections.

Joining Wyant on first team were Huron's Lauren Volz (16.5 ppg) and Margaretta's Kelsey Kromer (9.6 ppg) and Shannon Coy (12.4 ppg).

Western Reserve's Theresa Jackson (11.7 ppg) and Port Clinton's Hope Thorbahn (14 ppg) were second team selections.

Honorable mention selections included New London's Megan Thomas (12.6 ppg) and Sydnee Cooke (7 ppg), Huron's Devon Koenig (10.8 ppg), Western Reserve's Natalie Robson (9.9 ppg), Margaretta's Sarah Weyer (9.9 ppg) and Port Clinton's Meigan Day (7 ppg).

In Division IV, St. Paul's Audrey Badovick (15.5 ppg) and St. Mary Central Catholic's Lindsay Kaatz (23.1 ppg) were first teatm selections. Also for St. Paul, Taylor Brown (10.5 ppg) was named second team.

The All-Northwest district teams are slated for release on March 10.

Recommended for You